For Catechists

The 10 commandments

The commandments

The commandments to love your neighbor

The Fifth commandment: thou shall not kill

The Sixth commandment: you shall not commit adultery

The Seventh commandment: You shall not steal

The Eighth commandment: You shall not lie

The Ninth commandment: You shall not covet impure thoughts or desires

Tenth commandment: You shall not covet what belongs to others



Catechetical Sunday 2013

"Open the Door of Faith" (Acts 14:27)

Lent Resources to share with the children in your class

Explain the meaning of Ash Wednesday to the children

Help children begin the season of Lent

Pray the Stations of the Cross with children

Download this free powerpoint presentations

Ash Wednesday

Way of the Cross

Celebrate the Three Kings with the children

Reyes magos Felt Board Finger Puppets


Christmas Customs to do with Children


Celebrate Thanksgiving Day with the children


Co-workers in the Lord's Vineyard


Sacraments of Iniciation (I)

Catechetical Sunday


What purpose do signs and symbols serve?

They communicate important things and sometimes touch the heart because they can have a special meaning for us, such as the concept of homeland, home, and family. The sacraments, however, have a different force, since they are signs of God’s actions. They are the doors to the sacred; gateways through which we can enter into the house of God.

  • An external sign of inner grace.
  • An external sign that does what it means.


They are not just statements of what we believe as Catholics. By performing sacramentally what we believe, we have the ability to experience it. We believe that God forgives our sins. This belief is profess through the sacrament of Reconciliation.

The sacraments are our Christian life. Their actions show how we must act as Christians. The sacraments not only imply who “ad­ministers” them as a minister, but who receives it, since the grace is active in that person if they approach the sacrament with faith.


Matter and form

Catechism of the Catholic Church: 1987-1995; 1996-2005; 2006- 2011; 2012-2016

Grace: a favor of God, participation in the divine life. To receive grace (free) is an experience that God acts in our lives. Grace is a way in which God offers his life and offers us the same identity. Grace is a gift that is given freely by pure initiative of God, in an undeserved and disinterested manner. It is not just any gift, but a gift that commits.


History of the sacraments

We currently believe that there are seven sacraments, but this concept of the Church developed over time. In the beginning there was a “sacramental instinct” that repeated the actions of Christ with a sacred sense. It is interesting to note that in the first centuries of the second millennium, a perspective was adopted that continues to influence in sacramental theology.

St. Thomas Aquinas considered that spiritual life has a certain similarity with the life of the body. Baptism was the spiritual birth; Confirmation, the growth of the Spirit; the Eucharist, the food of the soul—three sacraments that responded to the spiritual life in comparison with birth, growing up, and food.

Reconciliation and Anointing of the sick are related to physical health, while the sacrament of Holy Orders and Marriage satisfy the spiritual needs of society.